- the #1 guide for student affairs professionals

Join our email list and stay informed with periodic updates & occasional discounts.
Safe Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS Feed for Job Listings
Find on Facebook Follow StudentAffairs on Twitter

2017 Virtual Case Study Competition (VCS)

In celebration of's upcoming 20th anniversary, we have increased the prize money for each member of the top three teams for's 16th Annual Virtual Case Study Competition for Masters level students in student personnel administration, counseling or higher education administration graduate programs. .

1st  Place - $200
2nd Place - $150
3rd  Place - $100

Find out about rules & eligibility, submission guidelines, and judging criteria.

Case study guidelines will be emailed to participants the second week of February.
Submissions are due by Friday, February 24th at 9pm EST.
Competition winners will be posted by March 13th.

2016 RECAP
Last year for our 15th annual edition, we received 48 team submissions from 33 separate schools. Western Illinois University was our most prolific participant with a total of seven teams entered.

Nilza Santana, Suzanne Jasmine, Bianca Lambert, and Sarah Beth Potter from Clemson University won top honors. Julie Edler, Kristen Thornton, and Beth Bodiya from Concordia University placed second. December Lange Treacy, Alyssa Anzalone, Marissa DuCharme, and Jennee Schansberg from University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee earned third place.

Teams were asked to create a presentation for how a college can be a more welcoming environment for transgender students. See 2016 case study and full results.

Clemson University 1st Place: Clemson University
Nilza Santana, Suzanne Jasmine, Bianca Lambert, Sarah Beth Potter ($150 each)
Concordia University 2nd Place: Concordia University
Julie Edler, Kristen Thornton, Beth Bodiya ($100 each)

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 3rd Place: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
December Lange Treacy, Alyssa Anzalone, Marissa DuCharme, Jennee Schansberg ($50 each)

2016: Clemson University
2015: Western Illinois University
2014: Indiana State University
2013: Western Michigan University
2012: St. Cloud State University
2011: Western Kentucky University
2010: Oklahoma State University (Educational) & Western Illinois University (Creative)
2009: NC State University (Educational) & Oklahoma State University (Creative)
2008: Baylor University
2007: Florida State University
2006: Indiana University
2005: Florida International University
2004: Syracuse University
2003: Loyola University Chicago
2002: Georgia Southern University

Rules & Guidelines

2016 WINNER:
Clemson University

Clemson University
Nilza Santana
Suzanne Jasmine
Bianca Lambert
Sarah Beth Potter

2016 Clemson
2015 Western Illinois
2014 Indiana State
2013 Western Michigan
2012 St. Cloud State
2011 Western Kentucky
2010 Ok.State/Western Ill
2009 NC State/Ok.State
2008 Baylor
2007 Florida State
2006 Indiana
2005 Florida Int'l
2004 Syracuse
2003 Loyola
2002 Georgia Southern